no pclinuxos yet, try pardus 2008 instead!

Well we got to July 1st without the latest release of pclinuxos so I was wrong again.

However I have found a promising distribution: Pardus

Pardus is quite low on distrowatch however after managing to find the English part of their website (by default both the website and distro are in Turkish although an English option can be selected) I have found a solid distribution. So exactly one week from now I will post a review of Pardus 2008; this will be my most professional review yet (by that I mean it will be split into categories and have screenshots).

My test machine:

generic Philliips laptop

1.5 GHz core 2 duo

2GB ram

Realtek sound card (older distributions generally do not support it)

Intel GMA 965 graphics chipset (Intel GMA x3100)

Review criteria:

Hardware support

Multimedia support

Speed/Stability

Ease of use

Aesthetics

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

